Nominations for 2016 Seafood Champion Awards Open

Seafood Champion Awards LogoBrussels, Belgium (23 April, 2015) – SeaWeb today announced the opening of nominations for the 2016 Seafood Champion Awards. The announcement was made to seafood professionals gathered in Brussels, Belgium, for the 23rd edition of Seafood Expo Global, the world’s largest seafood trade event, produced by Diversified Communications.

Helen Packer of Anova Food’s Fishing & Living program, 2015 Seafood Champions for Innovation, said: “It’s a prestigious and meaningful award and we see this as a perfect opportunity to show that our program can be a successful model and be replicated to other fisheries and well as other companies. Our mission is to be a leader by example. The private sector needs to be more involved in the field, needs to be part of the action.”

Steve Trent of the Environmental Justice Foundation, 2015 Seafood Champions for Advocacy, said of the awards: “Recognizing these sustainable seafood leaders is so important because it highlights all the good work that’s being done by many businesses, organizations, and individuals around the world…it gives them a push, a boost to carry on with their work. It also has a very important role in identifying functional solutions; those people that win the awards have, by and large, created solutions in a local context, implemented them, and seen that they can work. And that is crucial.”

Nominations are encouraged on behalf of individuals, companies or organizations whose accomplishments demonstrate outstanding commitment to advancing seafood sustainability in the fishing, aquaculture, seafood supply and distribution, retail, restaurant and foodservice sectors, as well as conservation, science, academia and the media.

An award will be presented for each of the following categories: leadership, innovation, vision, and advocacy.

The Seafood Champion Award for Leadership will recognize an entity or individual who displays leadership by organizing and convening seafood stakeholders in an effort to impact and improve the sustainability of seafood or ocean health.

The Seafood Champion Award for Innovation will be presented to the entity or individual who identifies and applies new solutions that meet or exceed the highest standards or requirements to address ecological challenges, existing market needs, or barriers to sustainability.

The Seafood Champion Award for Vision will go to an entity or individual who provides a clear, distinctive, and specific vision of the future that significantly advances the sustainable seafood community and may be related to technology, policy, products, markets or conservation tools.

The Seafood Champion Award for Advocacy will be given to an entity or individual who positively promotes sustainability or uses the media to raise the profile of sustainable seafood, effectively works to strengthen public policy and resource allocation decisions, or influences public discourse and engages key stakeholders by publicly championing advances in sustainable seafood.

In order to be considered for the Seafood Champion Awards, all nominations must be received no later than midnight on World Oceans Day, 8 June 2015, U.S. Eastern Time. The 2016 Seafood Champion Awards will be presented at the SeaWeb Seafood Summit, held 1-3 February 2016 in St. Julian’s, Malta. SeaWeb and Diversified Communications jointly produce the SeaWeb Seafood Summit.

Nominations will be judged on the value of their contribution to sustainable seafood by an independent panel of distinguished leaders, including former SeaWeb Seafood Champions and other sustainable seafood stakeholders from the scientific and academic community, non-governmental organizations, and seafood industry who will independently cast their votes for each nomination through qualitative assessment and a quantitatively weighted survey.

To review guidelines and selection process or to submit a nomination, visit the 2016 Nominations page at

About the Seafood Champion Awards

First presented in 2006, the Seafood Champion Awards annually recognize individuals and companies for outstanding leadership in promoting environmentally responsible seafood. SeaWeb established the award to honor those in the seafood industry whose past and/or present contributions demonstrate a commitment to innovation that leads to change. The Seafood Champion Awards ceremony is held annually during the SeaWeb Seafood Summit.

For more information including past winners, interviews, photo and video gallery, and media kit, please visit:

About SeaWeb

SeaWeb transforms knowledge into action by shining a spotlight on workable, science-based solutions to the most serious threats facing the ocean. To accomplish this important goal, SeaWeb convenes forums where economic, policy, social and environmental interests converge to improve ocean health and sustainability. SeaWeb works collaboratively with targeted sectors to encourage market solutions, policies and behaviors that result in a healthy, thriving ocean. By using the science of communications to inform and empower diverse ocean voices and conservation champions, SeaWeb is creating a culture of ocean conservation. For more information, visit:

# # #

Media contacts:
Marida Hines, Seafood Champions Program Manager
+1 301 580 1026

© Diversified Communications. All rights reserved.