Nominations for 2018 Seafood Champion Awards Open

Washington, DC (November 13, 2017) – SeaWeb today announced the opening of nominations for the 2018 Seafood Champion Awards.

First presented in 2006, the Seafood Champion Awards annually recognize leadership in promoting environmentally responsible seafood. Nominations are encouraged on behalf of individuals or organizations whose accomplishments demonstrate outstanding commitment to advancing seafood sustainability in the fishing, aquaculture, supply chain, retail, and restaurant or foodservice sectors, as well as conservation, science, academia and the media. Nominations will close at 11:59 EST on January 9, 2018.

The 2018 nominations were opened by SeaWeb president Mark Spalding, who highlighted the value of the Seafood Champion Awards in his remarks: “The future of humankind is linked to the future of the ocean. The well-managed fisheries and farms we are building today will provide an enormous benefit in quality of life tomorrow. The Seafood Champion Awards celebrate the people and organizations who are working for that future. I urge everyone with a sustainability success story to submit a nomination.”

Four finalists and one winner will be chosen for each of the following categories:

  • Seafood Champion Award for Leadership
    An individual or entity that displays leadership by organizing and convening seafood stakeholders to improve the sustainability of seafood and ocean health.
  • Seafood Champion Award for Innovation
    An individual or entity that identifies and applies creative new solutions to address: ecological challenges; existing market needs; barriers to sustainability.
  • Seafood Champion Award for Vision
    An individual or entity that establishes a clear and compelling vision of the future that inspires positive change for sustainable seafood in technology, policy, products or markets, or conservation tools. 
  • Seafood Champion Award for Advocacy
    An individual or entity who positively influences public policy, uses the media to raise the profile sustainable seafood, or influences public discourse and engages key stakeholders by publicly championing advances in sustainable seafood.

The 2018 Seafood Champion Awards will be presented at the SeaWeb Seafood Summit, held June 19-21 in Barcelona, Spain. SeaWeb and Diversified Communications jointly produce the SeaWeb Seafood Summit.

To review guidelines or to submit a nomination, visit the 2018 Nominations Guidance page.

For more information including past winners, interviews, photo and video gallery, and media kit, please visit

About SeaWeb

SeaWeb serves the sustainable seafood community by fostering communication and networking and promoting the exchange of knowledge and ideas to help guide, inspire and reward progress towards greater seafood sustainability. SeaWeb is a project of The Ocean Foundation, a unique community foundation with a mission to support, strengthen and promote organizations dedicated to reversing the trend of destruction of ocean environments around the world. SeaWeb produces the SeaWeb Seafood Summit in partnership with Diversified Communications. For more information, visit:

SeaWeb – –
2018 Nominations guidelines and nomination form –

# # #

Media contact:

Marida Hines
Seafood Champion Awards Program Manager

© Diversified Communications. All rights reserved.