19 - 21 June 2018 | Hotel Arts Barcelona | Barcelona, Spain

2016 Seafood Champion Winners

2016 Seafood Champion Awards Winners

On 1 February 2016, the 2016 Seafood Champion Awards winners were announced and celebrated in true Maltese fashion at La Valette Hall in Valletta, Malta. See below the winner for each of the following categories: Advocacy, Innovation, Leadership and Vision

Ministry of Fisheries & Agriculture, Maldives

Winner, Seafood Champion Awards Advocacy Category

Ministry of Fisheries & Agriculture, Maldives

Fishing is engrained in the national culture of the Maldives; an island nation, they recognize the importance of sustainable fisheries, which ensure livelihoods are guaranteed and the environment left unharmed. With responsible pole-and-line tuna fisheries representing one of the country’s greatest assets and employers, the Maldives has consistently presented themselves as an advocate for effective transboundary management. Continue reading >>

David Stevens, Crystal Sea Fishing

Winner, Seafood Champion Awards Innovation Category

David Stevens

While many fishers consider the E.U. Common Fisheries Policy discard ban to be challenging, David’s philosophy is simple: embrace change, work in partnership, and pave the way for others to follow. David proactively entered into partnership with the UK fisheries agency to take part in discard reduction trials where he documented his fishing, allowed cameras on board, and tested different gear. When that gear did not meet standards, he worked to change the regulations. Continue reading >>

Ally Dingwall

Winner, Seafood Champion Awards Leadership Category

Ally Dingwall

With Ally Dingwall’s as its Aquaculture and Fisheries Manager, Sainsbury’s now leads the U.K. retail market in the number of MSC products on their shelves, all of which carry chain of custody traceability and carry the logo on its packaging. As a result of Ally’s leadership, Sainsbury’s was awarded the MSC Fish Retailer of the year in 2014 and is still leading the market for 2015. Continue reading >>

Parties to the Nauru Agreement Organisation

Winner, Seafood Champion Awards Vision Category

Parties to the Nauru Agreement Organisation

A coalition of eight Pacific island nations nominated for successfully putting into place and enforcing effective fisheries management strategies and state-of-the-art technologies to protect their globally important tuna resource. Through unprecedented collaboration, cooperation, and a collective vision, the eight Parties to the Nauru Agreement nations are securing and strengthening fisheries rights for more sustainably harvested and managed tuna resources from the Pacific Island nations. Continue reading >>

>> See all 2016 finalists

>> Read the official press release

© Diversified Communications. All rights reserved.